Press Releases

Appointment of Directors and Audit & Supervisory Board Members

SoftBank Group Corp.

SoftBank Group Corp. (“SBG”) announces that today it has nominated candidates for the position of Directors and Audit & Supervisory Board members as indicated below. The elections are subject to the approval of the 39th Annual General Meeting of Shareholders (the “AGM”) to be held on June 19, 2019. The selection of Full-time Audit & Supervisory Board members is subject to a resolution at the Audit & Supervisory Board meeting to be held after the close of the AGM.

1. Appointment of the members of the Board of Directors

The terms of office of the current 12 Directors will expire at the conclusion of the AGM. SBG will propose the reelection of 11 out of the 12 current Directors and election of Dr. Yutaka Matsuo as a new Director, to the AGM.

(1) Newly elected candidate for the member of the Board (to be elected on June 19, 2019)

NameCurrent Primary Title
Yutaka MatsuoProfessor, Graduate School of Engineering, the University of Tokyo
  • Dr. Yutaka Matsuo is an intending external director.

(2) Director to resign from the Board (to resign on June 19, 2019)

NameCurrent Primary Title
Mark SchwartzBoard Director, SBG

2. Appointment of the Audit & Supervisory Board member

Of the current four Audit & Supervisory Board members, the term of office of Mr. Maurice Atsushi Toyama will expire at the conclusion of this AGM. SBG will propose the reelection of Mr. Maurice Atsushi Toyama as its Audit & Supervisory Board member to the AGM.

3. List of officers after the change

Chairman & CEOMasayoshi Son
Board Director, Vice ChairmanRonald D. Fisher
Board Director, Executive Vice President & COOMarcelo Claure
Board Director, Executive Vice President & CSOKatsunori Sago
Board Director, Executive Vice PresidentRajeev Misra
Board DirectorKen Miyauchi
Simon Segars
Yun Ma
Yasir O. Al-Rumayyan
Tadashi Yanai
Masami Iijima
Yutaka Matsuo
Full-time Audit & Supervisory Board MemberMasato Suzaki
Maurice Atsushi Toyama
Audit & Supervisory Board MemberSoichiro Uno
Hidekazu Kubokawa
  • Directors, Messrs. Tadashi Yanai, Masami Iijima, and Yutaka Matsuo are external directors. Audit & Supervisory Board members, Messrs. Maurice Atsushi Toyama, Soichiro Uno and Hidekazu Kubokawa, are external Audit & Supervisory Board members.

  • Releases, announcements, presentations and other information available from this page and elsewhere on this website were prepared based on information available and views held at the time of preparation and speak only as of the respective dates on which they are filed or used by SoftBank Group Corp. or the applicable group company, as the case may be. Such information is subject to change and may become out-of-date. Such information may also contain forward-looking statements which are by their nature subject to various risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results and future developments to differ materially from those expressed or implied by such statements. Please read legal notices in its entirety prior to viewing any information available on this website.

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • LINE